Rohm .38 Special

PDA
BigSwede
03-09-2006, 09:35 AM
Hey guys, a friend of mine sort of inherited (long story) a revolver, he is not a gun guy but is wondering if it worth anything. It is marked Rohm 38 spezial, and has been sitting in a leather holster since 1968 without being fired. It is fairly pristine, except the bluing has come off some of the edges where the holster was touching. The bore looks great to the naked eye. I would say it has barely been fired, if at all. So, is it:

A) worth anything
B) if not is it safe to plink with (hearing stories about Saturday night specials made by Rohm, but I don't think this is one of those...)

It seems OK to shoot, but I am not experienced with revolvers...

If you enjoyed reading about "Rohm .38 Special" here in the FamilyFriendsFirearms.com archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join FamilyFriendsFirearms.com today for the full version!
7.62mmFMJ
03-09-2006, 09:40 AM
I googled it and found one for sale $100. I also found that Charles Manson has 2 of them :psycho:

Popeye
03-09-2006, 09:46 AM
Rule of thumb. If it says Rohm, destroy it.

Rohm may have made a good revolver. If they did I haven't seen one. Whenever a Rohm revolver wanders into the shop, we attempt to buy it for $5 - $10. We destroy every one. The majority on the ones I have destroyed were cheaply made. Many were unsafe to fire.

BigSwede
03-09-2006, 10:09 AM
I found one on Gunbroker that is close, it looks like this one except blued and the barrel is shorter.
http://gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.asp?Item=44714285

Luckydog
03-09-2006, 12:03 PM
Look in the dictionary under "throw down". :D Just kiddin'. Hey, any gun is better than no gun. I used a realistic plastic toy Mod 28 to back off a mugger years ago. My mother had bought it at a garage sale and asked me to give it to a 10 year old neighbor. I still have it. (and a few real ones too)--Tom

budroe
03-09-2006, 01:38 PM
Try to trade it off on a better model. Maybe they'll give you $50 off in trade.